My 2024 TBR

Last year, I managed to read 8 out of the 10 books I listed up in my 2023 TBR post. Let’s see how I’ll do in 2024.

  1. The ghost ship – Kate Mosse

The final part in the ‘Burning chambers’ trilogy of which I enjoyed the first two books immensely. This book will be different, it’s about female pirates and not anymore set during the Huguenot Wars. So I’m curious to see if I like it.

2. Queen’s lady – Joanna Hickson

This year I was introduced to Joan Vaux and her family in ‘The lady of the ravens‘. In this book, Joan gets close to Catherine Of Aragon and thus for the first time Hickson brings us to the court of one of England’s most notorious kings: Henry VIII.

3. Joan – Katherine J. Chen

There are not enough books about The Hundred Years War. Chen brings forward the life and tragedy of Joan Of Arc in her own words. A book that receives great reviewswith a stunning cover. I have it on my shelves already and I’m excited to start reading it.

4. Cleopatra’s daughter

After reading Moran’s two books set in Ancient Egypt, we now turn to Rome where Cleopatra’s daughter by Marc Anthony, Selene, needs to survive in difficult politic times.

5. Lady of the English – Elizabeth Chadwick

Or any other Chadwick book, because I’m quite behind on reading them. Lady of the English is about Empress Maud who battled for the crown with her cousin King Stephen during the Anarchy.

6. Tombland – S.J. Sansom

The seventh and for the moment last part of the Matthew Shardlake series brings us another mystery set during the turbulent years of Edward VI his reign. It’s a big book again, but with Sansom it never feels like that.

7. The queen’s promise – Lyn Andrews

Still the oldest unread book on my shelves. Didn’t get to it last year. It’s about Anne Boleyn and her relationship with Henry Percy before she meets the king of England.

8. The scandalous duchess – Anne O’ Brien

Or any other O’Brien book as I’m behind on her books as well. This is one is about Katherine Swynford and I haven’t read about her before. She was the third wife of John Of Gaunt and mother to Beaufort line. The Beaufort line that ended in the Tudor dynasty…

9. Mistress of Rome – Kate Quinn

After finishing Elodie Harper’s series about Pompeii, I might be looking for my next Ancient Rome fix. I’ve Mistress of Rome on my Kindle and don’t know anything about it apart that it’s written by Kate Quinn of whom I read a WOII book before.

10. Herc – Phoenicia Rogerson

A retelling of Hercules/Herakles from the people around him. This feminist retelling seems right up in my alley.

What will you be reading in 2024?

2 thoughts on “My 2024 TBR

  1. I’ve read some of these and particularly enjoyed The Queen’s Lady and Lady of the English. Tombland is on my TBR to read soon too. I hope you enjoy your reading in 2024!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment