Cities of women by Kathleen B. Jones

After a personal tragedy, Beatrice has to flee her home along with her mother which means she also has to give up her dream of becoming a book illuminator. In the 21st century, historian Verity is captured by a folio containing an illustration in a book by the medieval French writer Catherine De Pizan.

Cities of women is a dual timeline historical novel. We meet Beatrice in medieval France who has a dream of becoming an illuminator and Verity, an historian tangled up with herself and her research project.

As is often the case with dual timeline novels, I liked the historical perspective better. But this time mostly because Verity’s story was a mess – with a problematic romance, a research project that was very far-fetched in my opinion, and heavy attention to certain detail that gives too much space to the modern story. Catherine and Beatrice’s story could also have been better developed I think. But I certainly enjoyed reading their story much more.

This is clearly Jones’ debut novel: it lacks focus and coherence. A pity because I had hoped for more as I find the subject of book illumination by medieval women quite interesting.

Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for a copy of this book in return for my honest opinion.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

Leave a comment