Books I can’t wait to read in 2024

With 2024 around the corner, I took a look at the list of books that will be published in 2024. And I made up this list of the releases I’m eagerly awaiting.

Hera – Jennifer Saint

My next Greek myth fix from Saint will be about the goddess of goddesses: Hera, wife of Zeus. Expected publication July 23, 2024.

The voyage home – Pat Barker

The third (and final?) part about women during and after the fall of Troy. For the first time Briseis won’t be the key narrator, but it will be Cassandra. So I’m curious how Barker will handle her and this also means that we will get Clythemnestra to the foreground I suspect. Expected publication August 15, 2024.

Helen’s judgement – Susan C. Wilson

Talking about Clythemnestra, I really enjoyed the retelling of her early life in Wilson’s first novel. The follow-up novel will be called Helen’s judgement and will deal with Agamemnon coming home from Troy.

The passionate Tudor: a novel about Mary I – Alison Weir

Next up as a main character in one of Weir’s Tudor England books is Mary I. I haven’t read a great novel about Mary yet, so I hope I’ll the portrayal of her in this book. Expected publication May 7, 2024.

The household – Stacey Halls

I’ve read and loved all of Halls’s previous books, so I’ll be reading The household too. The story is set at Urania Cottage, a refugee for women with a troubled past. Expected publication April 11, 2024.

Maria: a novel of Maria Von Trapp – Michelle Moran

Michelle Moran comes with a novel about Maria Von Trapp and this sounds just fun to read. Expected publication July 30, 2024.

The glassmaker by Tracey Chevalier

This novel about a girl in 15th century Venice just sounds interesting and I don’t read enough of Chevalier’s books. I always like them though! Expected publication June 18, 2024.

The royal rebel – Elizabeth Chadwick

Chadwick is going to write two novels about Joan Of Kent. And I do love her story! So, I’ll definitely put this one on my TBR. Expected publication September 5, 2024.

A court of betrayal – Anne O’ Brien

Also O’ Brien takes us back way in time. This time Joan de Geneville who is married to Richard Mortimer, Earl of March, is the main character. Mortimer will play a key role in the demise of Edward II. Expected publication February 29, 2024.

Unsinkable – Frances Quinn

That bonesetter woman made such an impression on me that I want to read every novel of Frances Quinn. This one is about the Titanic disaster, which is a total different setting.

And also: there might be a new Essex Dogs book from Dan Jones? I always have hopes for a new Elizabeth Fremantle (a follow-up on Disobedient?) or Joanna Hickson book.

2 thoughts on “Books I can’t wait to read in 2024

Leave a comment