Little by Edward Carey

Although small in stature Marie Grosholtz becomes a maid for the doctor Curtius together with her mother. When they move to Paris, they start a business in wax heads. That way, Marie gets in touch with the court of Versailles, but the French Revolution lurks around the corner.

It seemed interesting to read something about Madame Tussaud – to get to know her story. But it seems Little was a wrong choice. Marie is portrayed as a silly little child and remains so throughout her life. I never like reading from children’s point of view, but when Carey chooses to portray the adult Marie as a child as well, I reluctantly read this book through. This book tries to be ‘literary’ by doing this, I guess. But I found it so annoying.

It seems strange to me that the real Madame Tussaud was so stupid as this book tries to describe her, but still managed to start a successful business during a complex time. This book is one big confusion, with spiteful characters like Curtius and the fictional widow Picot treating Marie like a piece of dirt. And Marie not once standing up for herself.

With the French Revolution, Carey wants to add some horror to the story, but it all blends into an incoherent excess. I didn’t care for any of the characters so I also didn’t care when they died.

I also discovered afterwards that there are some historical falsehoods in the story (such as the death of her parents and her tragic childhood), so that completely puts me off from this book. It was a disappointment for me. Maybe one day, I’ll read another book about Marie Tussaud, Michelle Moran wrote a novel about her as well. It will be better than this one, I assume.

Rating: 2 out of 5.

It’s always hard to write a more negative review, don’t let it put you off from trying this book.

When was the last time, you were disappointed in a book?

Leave a comment